

PCS 2010 28th Picture Coding Symposium

December 7-10, 2010, Nagoya, Japan

In cooperation with

Telecommunications Advancement Foundation Nagoya Convention & Visitors Bureau



Supported by

Call for Papers

Picture Coding Symposium (PCS) is an international forum devoted specifically to advancements in visual data coding. PCS is the pioneer and has the longest history in this field. Since 1969, PCS has provided the most exciting meeting place for the visual coding community: industry, research, academia, and users. The 28th PCS will be held in Nagoya, Aichi, JAPAN, on December 7-10, 2010. In line with the tradition of PCS, challenging exploratory contributions are very welcomed.

In addition to the <u>three day symposium</u> held on December 8-10, the <u>one day</u> <u>workshop (WPCIP)</u> will be held on December 7, which is organized by the 25th Picture Coding Symposium of Japan and the 15th Image Media Processing Symposium (PCSJ/IMPS).

TOPICS

- The 28th PCS especially focuses on
- 3DTV
- FTV (Freeviewpoint Television)
- Beyond H.264/MPEG-4 AVC
- Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
- Coding of still and moving pictures
- Model-based and synthetic coding
- Distributed source coding
- Image and video processing
- Multimodal coding and processing
- Very high-resolution imaging, coding and processing
- Multi-view video processing and coding
- Representation, analysis and coding of 3D scenes
- Virtual/augmented/mixed reality
- Subjective and objective quality assessment metrics and methods
- Joint source and channel coding
- Error robustness, resilience and concealment
- Transcoding and transmoding
- Coding for mobile, IP and sensor networks
- Coding and processing for database applications
- Protection and integrity of visual data
- Implementation architectures and VLSI
- New applications and techniques for visual data processing
- Standards for visual data coding

PAPER SUBMISSION

Prospective authors are invited to submit extended summaries of no more than four (4) pages for the Symposium or two (2) pages for the Workshop, in English, with font size 11, including results, figures and references. Submissions will be accepted only in PDF format. The online submission system will be available later through the symposium web site.

IMPORTANT DATES

Symposium Paper Submission:

Submission deadline of regular papers:	
Notification of acceptance:	
Submission deadline of camera-ready papers:	

Workshop Paper Submission:

Submission deadline of short papers: Notification of acceptance,

June 23, 2010. September 15, 2010. October 8, 2010.

October 11, 2010. October 18, 2010.

More information will be available on the symposium web site: <u>http://www.pcs2010.org</u>.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE General Chair:

Masayuki Tanimoto, Nagoya University General Vice-Chair: Yoshiyuki Yashima, Chiba Institute of Technology Technical Program Chair: Takahiro Saito, Kanagawa University

Technical Program Vice-Chairs:

Kotaro Asai, Mitsubishi Electric Kiyoharu Aizawa, University of Tokyo

Toshiyuki Yoshida, Fukui University Publication Chair:

Kenji Sugiyama, Seikei University Publicity Chair:

Jiro Katto, Waseda University

Special Session Chairs:

Toshiaki Fujii, Tokyo Institute of Technology Seishi Takamura, NTT Corporation

Tutorial Chairs:

Shinichi Sakaida, NHK Science & Technology Research Laboratories

Kazuya Kodama, National Institute of Informatics Finance Chair:

Kazuto Kamikura, NTT Corporation Registration Chair:

Akio Yoneyama, KDDI R&D Laboratories Local Arrangement Chairs:

Mehrdad Panahpour Tehrani, Nagoya University Norishige Fukushima, Nagoya Inst. of Technology Workshop Chairs:

Takayuki Hamamoto, Tokyo University of Science Akira Kubora, Chuo University

INTERNATIONAL STEERING COMMITTEE

Kiyoharu Aizawa, University of Tokyo, Japan John Apostolopoulos, HP Labs, USA Tsuhan Chen, Cornell University, USA Edward J. Delp, Purdue University, USA Marek Domanski, Poznan University of Technology, Poland Touradj Ebrahimi, EPFL, Switzerland Pascal Frossard, EPFL, Switzerland Bernd Girod, Stanford University, USA Christine Guillemot, INRIA, France Hsueh-Ming Hang, National Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan Yun He, Tsinghua University, China Thomas S.Huang, UIUC, USA Yo-Sung Ho, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea Aggelos K. Katsaggelos, Northwestern University, UŜĀ Jiro Katto, Waseda University, Japan Sang Uk Lee, Seoul National University, Korea Hans G.Musmann, Universitaet Hannover, Germany Antonio Ortega, USC, USA Joern Ostermann, Leibniz Universitaet Hannover, Germany Fernando Pereira, IST-IT, Portugal Kannan Ramchandran, UCB, USA Takahiro Saito, Kanagawa University, Japan Mihaela van der Schaar, UCLA, USA Ralf Schaefer, Heinrich-Hertz Institut, Germany Andrew Segall, Sharp Labs, USA Thomas Sikora, Technical University of Berlin, Germany Gary Sullivan, Microsoft, USA Masayuki Tanimoto, Nagoya University, Japan Murat Tekalp, Koc University, Turkey Yoshiyuki Yashima, Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan

Lu Yu, Zhejiang University, China